哈顿技术学院

客户南泰恩赛德议会

地点泰恩河畔纽卡斯尔

项目类型学校

完工日期10月 2011

价值£25m

面积 13,200sqm

该项目涉及翻新现有的1930年代街区,并建造一座新的凉亭建筑。

这座新大楼着重于学院的技术特色,设计宗旨是学生的学习工具,融合了结构元素和不同服务,从而可以成为学生进入建筑物之后上的第一节视觉课。该建筑物中还创建了目前无法使用或无法实现的空间,例如技术仓,可容纳120个座位的演讲厅和大学预科研讨室。尽管显然是很现代,新建筑还是仔细考虑了现有建筑。

对现有街区进行了全面的翻新,保留了其原有特色的宏伟壮丽,并进行了一些改建,以提供各种学习环境。1960年代单独的单层住房的拆除允许对场地布局进行根本性的重组。

美化环境的设计为学校创造了清晰的视觉形象。位于两座建筑物之间的新广场是主入口,具有融合的社交空间,为学校奠定了基调。

奖项

混合物学奖-入围奖
建设卓越奖-价值奖
公共私募金融奖-最佳教育项目和最佳公共部门项目团队

「Ryder提供了支持、指导和专业知识,以建造一座造福后代的建筑物,这不仅是因为其功能性和灵活性,而且还因为其外观的美感。团队很高兴与大家一起工作,我们都为最终宏伟的成果感到骄傲。」

哈顿技术学院执行班主任Ken Gibson

Harton Technology College

ClientSouth Tyneside Council

LocationNewcastle upon Tyne

Project TypeSchool

CompletionOctober 2011

Value£25m

Area13,200sqm

The refurbishment of an existing 1930s block and the construction of a pavilion building.

With an emphasis on the college’s specialism of technology, the pavilion building was designed as a learning tool for its students incorporating exposed structural elements and services allowing a visual lesson on construction and design. Spaces are created which were not available or achievable in the existing building including a technology barn, 120 seat lecture theatre and sixth form seminar rooms. Although, clearly of its own time, the new build pays careful consideration to the existing block.

Sensitive refurbishment of the existing block retains the grandeur of its original character with some remodelling to provide a variety of learning environments. Demolition of separate 1960s single storey accommodation allowed for a fundamental reorganisation of the site layout.

The landscaping design creates a clear visual identity for the school. The external pedestrian plaza, situated between the two buildings, creates a formal place of arrival and sets the tone for the school.